top of page
  • Rachel

Passover Recipe-Carrot Mousse (Egg, Nut, Soy, Dairy Free)


Passover is going to look very different this year in our household. The fact is, I don't have a lot of the ingredients I normally have in my fridge/closets at this time to prepare for this holiday-but nevertheless NOT doing anything isn't an option either.


Passover without a pandemic is not easy for those who suffer food allergies and while Kosher for Passover product companies have thankfully clued in to the gluten/celiac market, they really don't address any of the other allergies that befall our community.


Eggs and nuts are the hallmark of Passover cooking. Literally every recipe or boxed product you buy requires eggs and/or nuts. Over the years, I have managed to figure a few things out, and while I wish things were back to normal (and by that I mean just having food allergies without a global pandemic-funny what we all consider normal now) I am resolved to making a few of our family traditional favorites with what I have got on hand. This recipe can be used for Passover or Easter and for those who don't require use of Passover products I have put in the substitutes-because everyone with food allergies (pandemic or not) should be able to experience "normalcy" and joy when we get the chance.


Carrot Mousse is so delicious it should really be a dessert, but I prefer to use it as a side dish. Years ago, I submitted this to the Washington Post and it was published (including the picture above from their kitchen) on their food blog. I have been making it for years and it makes an appearance for Rosh Hashanah, Thanksgiving and Passover. It uses tofu during the year, but on Passover I use subs to make it appropriate for the holiday where soy isn't used. The Passover version is also low sodium in case that is an issue in your household. Try it out and let me know how it goes. It's easy and quick to make and your family will love it.


Passover Recipe

1 lb carrots cooked and cooled (I use baby carrots-so much easier)

1/2 cup sweetened applesauce (you can unsweetened but it may tastes a bit sour.)

1/3 cup oil (vegetable oil is fine)

1 TBSP apple juice

1 TBSP. pure vanilla extract

1 TBSP. potato starch

2 TBSP. cake meal

1 tsp. cinnamon

¼ cup sugar (I used coconut sugar)

Dash of cinnamon and nutmeg


Non Passover Recipe (not soy free)

1 lb carrots cooked and cooled (I use baby carrots-so much easier)

½ block of firm silken tofu (I used Mori-Nu) (let sit in strainer for a few minutes to extract some liquid).

1/3 cup canola oil

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

3 TBSP. unbleached flour (you can use gluten free rice or oat flour)

1 tsp. cinnamon

¼ cup sugar

Dash of cinnamon and nutmeg


DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350

Boil carrots until very soft-allow to cool.

Process carrots in food processor with oil.

Combine remaining ingredients until nice and smooth with no carrot chunks.

Pour into a greased 8x8 pan-lightly sprinkle dash of cinnamon and nutmeg.

Bake 40 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean

Cool completely and cover with aluminum


Notes

  • The Non Passover recipe will come out a bit lighter in color and fluffier.

  • Make sure the carrots are super soft but not mushy.

  • If its too thick, thin it out with a little more apple juice.

  • It's nice to drizzle a little maple syrup on top when it comes out of oven.

  • The mousse sometimes develops a "skin" like when you cook pudding, doesn't affect it at all.


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page